Leo had a great first week at school, Max had a great first week without his big Bro by his side, Mommy had a rough week but pulled through.

Things I noticed from this past week:

Leo’s focus and listening has already improved.

He has been trying new foods.

He loves his teachers.

His behaviors come out when he’s exhausted.

Leo is 4 1/2 years old and has school and therapy 6 hours a day. 6 HOURS A DAY.  Today I make the phone call to the regional center to discuss our funding issues if I cut him back on therapy or how hard it would be to get it back if I dropped it all together. He needs down time, he needs to be a kid and he hasn’t ever really had a chance to do that. And I’m going to say it- it’s not fair. Yeah, it’s not.

We can’t decide to go see a movie or go to lunch or sit in our underwear in a sheet fort after school because he is always being pushed to learn. And he’s done better with it than I would. So today I get a few more answers, today I start the process of either backing out of or totally dropping ABA. I love ABA, it’s making my children better, but the school he’s in is incorporating ABA into his mornings and I’m good with it.

More to come.

Happy Week everyone.

