I don’t often talk in public forum about political issues, but once in a while something tugs or punches at my heart and I feel like I need to write it out.
So here goes.

Negative labels of groups of people disgust me.
Denying a right to a person because of who they love infuriates me.

One of my best friends in the world has a fire for Jesus, a passion for the gospel and lots and lots of love in his heart. God made him. God guides him. And he is a homosexual.

He and I talked at length about civil rights, about legislative dealings in Indiana, about Jesus and about our hearts with it all. I told him that I have such a hard time with these things. I can’t imagine having hate in my heart for a group of people, first and second if I was part of that hated group, the last thing I would want is to force the hand of someone who hates my lifestyle to participate in something as special as a union with my partner.

His response to me: “I wouldn’t want to compromise someone’s beliefs with my lifestyle.”

Wow. WOW. He puts YOUR faith first. It made my heart both happy and sad. It made my heart happy that he is strong enough in who he is as a HUMAN to let roll the hatred that some preach and that his faith in God is strong enough to know that he is loved. It makes me so sad that some cannot see him as a God fearing man because of who he loves.

wall-quotes-ten-commandments-22

Lemme just leave this here for a minute….

and in case you’re confused by the words- lets simplify this even further:

kidstencommandments

So I go on a search to find out how many times the word “hate” is used in the Bible. And I stumble on this gem:

http://christianbiblestudyblog.blogspot.com/2011/01/hate-or-love.html

This post is amazing. And the answer is 85 times. And NOT ONCE in those 85 times is the word used in reference to people or a person. NOT ONCE. Why? Because God loves each and every one of us. He made us. He made each and every one of us. And He loves each and every one of us.

So I have a challenge for the Christian community. Instead of focusing on hate. Instead of judging and pushing away those who are different, lets open our arms and love. Lets love so hard that every person wants to know Jesus the way we do. Lets teach the way Jesus taught and the way we are asked to. It is not our job to place judgment on others, but it is our job to show grace and love to those around us. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if when this life is over you’re able to tell God that you loved. That your greatest accomplishment was love- to everyone in everyway. Even when they were different.

“But love your enemies, do good to them, and lend to them without expecting to get anything back. Then your reward will be great, and you will be sons of the Most High, because he is kind to the ungrateful and wicked.” – Luke 6:35

“Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins.” – 1Peter 4:8

“Hatred stirs up dissension, but love covers over all wrongs.” -Proverbs 10:12

11164822_10153236045558529_3944956201503997192_n

