I used to wear makeup daily.
Heels and dresses or super cute put together outfits were the norm. I didn’t think about it, I just did it. I shopped, because I had the money and time to. I bought super tall heels and had awesomely cute short hair do’s. I would rock out in the morning while getting ready. I shaved my legs on a regular basis.

And now it seems like it’s all gone.

Thursday I was awake at 3:30am. So I had time to get my reading, and laundry and dishes done before the boys woke up. Thursday I wore makeup, and did my hair, and wore pink. Not just pink, but a pink flowy gauze skirt (Leo told me I was pretty, a pretty jellyfish). I had so many compliments. It was odd. I didn’t feel much different- I was me. Just a me from a few years ago. Not the current me. I’ve fallen into jeans and t shirts, workout clothes and tank tops. flip flops and tennis shoes. Not because I don’t like to get fluffy, but because I just don’t have time.

Pair all of this with a changing body (I’ve been on a weight loss journey for a couple of years now, down almost 70lbs! woot!) I’ve had to get rid of most of my go to “cute” clothes (although they were in sizes I prefer not to wear), and now having a limited income to replace them. I thrift store shop. I’ve found some super cute things, some not so much but slowly I am building a wardrobe I like. Very slowly.

It’s hard to make yourself a priority when other people and things seem more important. As the boys are entering toddler hood and can entertain themselves for 10 minutes before all hell breaks loose I do get a teeny tiny bit of time for me- and that is usually long enough to moisturize. But I am looking forward to getting back into being that person again.

Being that girl that can cover the bags under her eyes, and wear a small wedge and perhaps earrings and a necklace (grabby hands have had me shelf all jewelry except for a necklace I wear daily- and I’ve thought about taking that one off a million times- my wedding ring and studs in my second earring hole). I love having a pretty simple life and home but I don’t like looking like a simply plain woman. (If that makes sense please raise your hand)

For all the mommies out there that struggle with this too, I’m sending you a hug and a prayer for an extra 5 minutes to put your face on or pick out a cute outfit or whatever it is that will help make you feel like a million bucks.

Circa 2004 or 2005
Circa 2004 or 2005
2015- on a good day  :)
2015- on a good day 🙂
