It’s undiagnosed but its there. And it gets worse when I’m stressed out. BUT it is crazy helpful with certain things, like “monitoring” when Leo has a jump backward. (There is a pattern, I’m starting to recognize it)

After he was officially diagnosed with Autism I started watching. Looking for things that set of his sensory sensitivity, that overloaded him, when we took leaps backward after climbing higher and higher. We have worked very hard through a lot of his sensory issues. Sirens, coffee grinders, lawn mowers and weed whackers he can sit through most of the time. Wild Kratts and BBC dinosaur documentaries amp him up so much that I can’t calm him back down and have been “outlawed” in our house. SpongeBob squarepants (my husband put it on for him one day, that show gives me a headache) calmed him down. say what?

So after starting school, the first big set back we had was after Spring break. The child that thrives on schedule, that can’t function without it, that demands the first thing they do at school now is make a schedule, had to function on no schedule for a week. We went back to school and he went non verbal, started hitting, screaming all of the time and it wasn’t much better at home.

Then came summer break, he had mellowed out a bit and being back on schedule helped “regulate” the tantrums and outbursts, kept his words coming, and whammo. As much as I tried to make a schedule for us- it wasn’t his normal school schedule and we fell back again. School starts, we are okay.

So breaks are the hardest. And I try to explain to him that breaks are good. But he doesn’t understand. Thanksgiving we had 5 days straight off and it’s been a fight ever since. Pair that with music, lights, shiny and Christmas everywhere. So he’s licking his hands, chewing on his fingers, biting, screaming, not listening, hitting, throwing and generally off. And I don’t always handle it well. I try to stay calm, have him look at me and talk it out, but when it’s the 80th time saying we don’t jump on the couch or hit our brother or scream or throw, I end up yelling. And I know that sets it back even more.

It drives me nuts that something that is normal, that we do everyday some days is too much, or something he can’t handle, or that he just totally shuts down and I can’t get through to him. I can’t understand it. No matter how I try to place it in a pattern or watch for what leads up to it.

I know we are going to have ups and downs, sometimes the downs just kick you in the gut.

So prayers to get through this season in one piece would be greatly appreciated.

