I’d say to follow your heart and your mind. They know you better than anyone, any book, any class, anything you can read online. There are things I joke about- but I’m kinda serious (lol) about having a brand new baby, but we all fall into a rhythm, find our stride, fall flat on our face and pick right back up because that’s what we do.

I have to follow my heart more often than not with the boys. All of the charts that tell me how big they are suppose to be were thrown out the window they were born- at 9lb 7oz and 8lb 12oz respectively. The charts that tell me what milestones they should be hitting based on age I had to throw out when they reached certain ones super early and still haven’t met others. But my heart has always known if we were “on track” or not.

With that being said, we are headed back to the Regional Center today, but for Max. I’m pulled in two different directions about this. I know he’s having speech problems- again a child of ours can’t mother freaking talk, but boy oh boy can Joel and I. There are other concerns we are having with him that lead to a talk with our Pediatrician and scheduling with the center. If he needs help and they can start it now, it will be wonderful because I know he will progress so fast. We have very very smart boys. But if he does need help, we have another child that is going to take extra time and patience and I am afraid of how I am going to handle all of this.

I do not believe “God never gives us more than we can handle”, I believe he gives us opportunities to ask him for help, for grace, for love and for the chance to learn. And that  there are totally days where we can’t handle it and those are the days we have to pray and make choices and ask for help- and I know that is one thing I totally need to do more of.

I texted Joel this morning and said if we can make it through this season of life alive, still talking and in one piece I think we will be okay forever. Having two toddlers- to my amazing friend with triplet 2 year olds- you are amazing, and I know you are just living life and walking in the path God placed you but woman I applaud the grace you have with even the toughest days- is hard. Having two toddlers that need extra help with communication is enough to make you want to run away at times.

So to all of my beautiful girlfriends that are in all stages of mommydom, know that your heart is your best guide, but that other mommies are always here with hugs, coffee, shoulders to cry on, high fives, happy dances and listening ears. Know that you are loved, even in your worst moments, that you are so much more than you think you are on a daily basis and that you are doing the best for your family.

