Max had his well visit, he’s a big boy. Our Peditrician said he’s on the path to being bigger than Leo and Leo is a DUDE. (My thoughts on purchasing a grocery store and a pants store to get us through the teenage years may need to come into reality..) Max measured in at 31lbs and 33″ tall. He is solid, and smiley and only has 2 words. It seemed like he had closer to 5 maybe a month ago, but “wassat” and “momma” are it for right now. So I racked my brain trying to remember where we were with Leo at a year and a half. (I know you can’t compare your kids, but he’s all I’ve got to go on)

Leo never had a problem with words. He had lots, never in sentences but lots of words- labeling words. And then one day or a month went by and there weren’t any new ones. And his Leo jibber jabber was in the forefront of his speech. Max hasn’t ever really had words. Our Peditrician referred him to speech therapy. And I’m worried. He is what he is, and he will be amazing and full of love regardless, but damnit. I don’t want him to struggle with words like Leo still does at times. I don’t want him to go through the frustration of not being able to tell us what he needs.

I started with the PEC book with him today. It’s going to become part of his and my one on one time while Leo is at “school” 3 days a  week. But, I’m worried. A lot.

Leo rocked his first day at the clinic. He has different tutors when he is there. He played with another little gal there, and I guess the ball pit was his favorite. I am really excited for some sensory integration into his therapy. Bouncing, ball pit, finger paint whatever. He licked a baby carrot and some ranch dressing this week- and last night ate a quesadilla with some apple in it.  Made me a super happy momma.

When we were leaving the clinic he stopped, looked up at me and said “momma, I have friends”. It’s a good thing I had my sunglasses on because I cried like a baby. I have been so worried he wouldn’t be able to make friends. It was always so hard for me as a kid to make friends and I don’t want that for him. I want him to run and smile and laugh and play. I want there to be kids at his birthday parties, and I want him to get invitations to different things with his peers. Being accepted. I want him to be accepted.

It’s been a week. I’m happy for a zoo trip tomorrow and some family time Sunday.

